Skip to Main Content

Community Development

HW_Bus_Dist
 
 

The Community Development Department administers all land use and zoning regulations and coordinates the comprehensive long-range planning process. The Department is responsible for the enforcement of all building codes as well as zoning, sign, and subdivision ordinances. The Department also provides staff support for the Plan Commission, Zoning Board of Appeals, Landmark Preservation Commission, Design Review Board, and Business Community Development Commission.

The Department is responsible for the issuance of building permits and conducting inspections on projects including new residential and commercial construction, additions and remodeling, as well as minor permits for fences, driveways, signs and awnings. On an annual basis, the Department issues approximately 1,000 permits.

The Department conducts regular code enforcement, property maintenance and safety inspections on construction sites, and inspects other property maintenance related matters raised by the public. Food service establishments in the Village are inspected by the Department’s Sanitation division to assure that facilities meet safety and sanitation codes.

The Department also coordinates business development activities in each of the Village’s three business districts.

Contact Information:

510 Green Bay Road
First Floor
847-716-3576
 

Staff

Michael D'Onofrio
Director of Community Development
847-716-3526
mdonofrio@winnetka.org

Brian Norkus
Assistant Director of Community Development
847-716-3522
bnorkus@winnetka.org

Ann Klaassen
Planning Assistant
847-716-3525
aklaassen@winnetka.org

Lori Weaver
Administrative Assistant
847-716-3527
lweaver@winnetka.org

Anita Lichterman
Permit Coordinator
847-716-3520
alichterman@winnetka.org

Mike Dlouhy
Code Enforcement Inspector
847-716-3521
mdlouhy@winnetka.org

Department Fax
847-716-3588

 
close (X)