Skip to Main Content

Public Works

The Winnetka Public Works Department is a full-service department providing residents with a variety of services and programs. The Public Works Department is staffed with 30.5 full-time employees ranging from administrative staff to maintenance workers all working together to ensure services are provided efficiently and effectively. The Public Works Department is organized into four divisions; administration, engineering, operations, and forestry to effectively and efficiently respond to and provide services for residents.

PW_Willow_Entrance

The Public Works Department, under the direction of the Public Works Director, provides a number of services and programs to Winnetka residents, including but not limited to: street and sewer management, maintenance, and repairs, refuse collection, fleet maintenance, tree management and maintenance, infrastructure design and construction management, and administrative staff support. In all the Public Works Department manages and maintains over 58 miles of roadway, 109 miles of sewer lines, provides refuse collection to approximately 4,000 households, reviews over 200 development plans a year, and cares for thousands of parkway trees.

In addition to the services provided, the Public Works Department provides Winnetka residents with a number of special programs, such as Spring Cleanup, Leaf Collection, Holiday Tree Collection, Snow & Ice Control, Recycling, and other related community services all of which are provided at no additional charge.

The Public Works Department is committed to the continuous improvement of the community and always striving to improve the services it provides to Winnetka residents. Per regulations, the Village of Winnetka is required to post certain permits and reports. To view current documents, follow the links (by document) below:

The Public Work Department also works closely with the Village's Environmental and Forestry Commission.

Contact Information:

1390 Willow Road
847-716-3568

Hours:

Monday – Friday
7:00 AM – 5:00 PM

Staff

Steve Saunders
Director of Public Works/Village Engineer
847-716-3534
ssaunders@winnetka.org

Jim Bernahl
Assistant Director of Public Works
847-716-3261
jbernahl@winnetka.org

Steve Auth
Superintendent of Operations
847-716-3273
sauth@winnetka.org

Susan Chen
Assistant Village Engineer
847-716-3532
schen@winnetka.org

Jim Stier
Village Forester
847-716-3535
jstier@winnetka.org

Matt Havlik
Public Works Analyst
847-716-3550
mhavlik@winnetka.org

Emily Braun
Administrative Secretary
847-716-3531
ebraun@winnetka.org

Main
847-716-3568

Emergency
847-501-2531

Department Fax
847-716-3599

 
close (X)