Skip to Main Content

2019 Landmark Preservation Awards


The annual Landmark Preservation Awards honor construction projects in Winnetka that help preserve its history and character. The program has three award categories: Restoration, Rehabilitation, and New Construction. The properties do not have to be landmarks - the winners, determined by the Landmark Preservation Commission, are properties that exemplify the historic character, architectural distinctiveness, and design aesthetic of Winnetka. 

The Winnetka Landmark Preservation Commission recently awarded the 2019 Preservation Awards to five Winnetka properties.  The awards were presented at the February 18, 2020 Village Council meeting.  Louise Holland, Chair of the Landmark Preservation Commission presented the following awards:

250 Poplar Street (Rehabilitation)
Owners: Sherri and Eric Zion
Architect/Designer: Thomas Buckley Architect & Associates

510 Sheridan Road (Rehabilitation)
Owners: Brian and Margaret Higgins

514 Willow Road (Rehabilitation)
Owners: Kendra and Matt Thornton
Architect/Designer: Morgante Wilson Architects


700 Elm Street (Rehabilitation)
Owners: The Hadley Institute for the Blind and Visually Impaired
Architect/Designer: Fitzgerald Architecture Planning Design


824 Boal Parkway (New Construction)
Owners: Steve and Kristin Dimakos
Architect/Designer: Edward Deegan Architects


Congratulations to the award recipients! 

The Winnetka Landmark Preservation Commission will accept nominations for the 2020 program beginning in March.  Information about the awards is sent to residents who receive E-Winnetka, the Village’s weekly newsletter, and can also be found by calling Christopher Marx at 847-716-3587. Sign up for the newsletter.


« Back

close (X)