Skip to Main Content

Design Review Board

Regular meetings of the Design Review Board (DRB) take place on the third Thursday of every month. All meetings are held at Village Hall and start at 7:00 p.m.


The DRB consists of seven Winnetka residents appointed by the Village President with the advice and consent of the Village Trustees, with one member designated to serve as chairperson. Members of the Design Review Board serve for terms of five years, which are staggered to assure the Board’s continuity. The Design Review Board also serves as the Sign Board of Appeals. Although residency is the only defined qualification for serving on the DRB, members of the DRB are generally appointed on the basis of expertise and/or involvement in the fields of architecture, landscape design, real estate and commerce.

Powers and Duties

The primary functions of the Board are to:

  • Hold hearings on the issuance of Certificates of Appropriateness of design for external architectural features and site improvements in connection with building permit and sign permit requests for multi-family, institutional and commercial structures;
  • Make findings and recommendations to the Village Council regarding Certificates of Appropriateness that are part of any building, zoning or development application that requires final approval by the Village Council;
  • Make findings and to issue or deny Certificates of Appropriateness for all applications that are not subject to Village Council approval;
  • Adopt and publish standards and criteria (i.e., design guidelines) for the review of external architectural features associated with the issuance of Certificates of Appropriateness;
  • Formulate plans or guidelines for improving the appearance of privately owned real estate in the Village;
  • Consult and cooperate with, and to provide comments to, the Plan Commission, Village departments, and the Village Council on matters affecting the appearance of the Village;
  • And consider administrative appeals of any Sign Code decision or interpretation.


Below is a list of the current members of the DRB, including their position, contact information, and terms:


Kirk Albinson Chair 847-784-6976 010/21/2024
Michael Ritter At-Large 847-441-8862 07/01/2021
Brad McLane At-Large 847-441-0985 11/15/2024
Paul Konstant At-Large 847-967-6115 12/01/2022
Brooke Kelly At-Large 847-420-4886 05/01/2020
Maggie Meiners At-Large 773-383-9197 2/6/2023
Michael Klaskin At-Large 847-881-2556 10/15/2021
Chris Marx Staff Liaison 847-716-3587  


close (X)